Skip to content

Mountain hut

Chamanna Coaz CAS

About this hut: staffed hut for summer walkers, mountaineers and winter ski visitors; access variants differ

Notice: 3October2026 article confirms summer season has ended and hut is closed; team expects return inMarch2027. Homepage gives more precise20March–25April2027 winter period. Source read 2026-10-24.

Notice: Hut currently closed. No winter room and no unstaffed sleeping or cooking facilities; only a protective shelter is present. · Unstaffed room: not provided Source read 2026-10-24.

Path access notices

Pontresina / ValRoseg
Notice: Operator explicitly says winter access through ValRoseg is closed because of PizScerscen rockfall; snowshoe approach through this valley is also not passable. This does not state that both summerT2 approaches are closed. Source read 2026-10-24.

ValRoseg deposits and valley-floor LejdaVadret path
Notice: Municipal notice dated 18 June 2024 strongly advises against entering rockfall deposits; valley-floor path to Lej da Vadret remains closed, and rapid water-level rises along Ova da Roseg may occur even in fine weather. This is the dated assessment linked by the current operator page, not a new 2026 assessment. Source read 2026-10-24.

AlpOta junction bridge/gully
Notice: 22August2026 report says heavy rain displaced the bridge above the AlpOta junction. Operator then described the gully as passable depending on water, with caution. No later bridge-reinstatement or present crossing clearance established. Source read 2026-10-24.

Approach-specific path notices

Murtèl – Fuorcla Surlej – Chamanna Coaz
Notice: On 22 August 2026, the operator reported that heavy rain had displaced the bridge above the Alp Ota junction. The gully was then described as passable only under suitable water conditions, with caution. Later bridge reinstatement and present crossing conditions have not been confirmed. Source read 2026-10-25.

Approach choices

Von Murtèl (Mittelstation Corvatschbahn) über die Fuorcla Surlej

hiking · summer· SAC hiking T2

Source ascent: 2 h–2 h 30 min

Glacier assessment not confirmed. A source description does not establish current path access.

Von Pontresina über die Alp Ota

hiking · summer· SAC hiking T2

Source ascent: 3 h–5 h

Glacier assessment not confirmed. A source description does not establish current path access.

Roseg valley foot approach

hiking · summer· SAC hiking T2

Glacier assessment not confirmed. A source description does not establish current path access.

More source-described approaches (4)

panoramic high path

hiking · T2 · glacier assessment unknown

Source ascent: 2 h 30 min–3 h

Von Surlej (Bergstation Corvatsch)

ski touring · ZS- · glacier assessment unknown

Source ascent: 1 h 30 min

Von Pontresina

ski touring · WS · glacier assessment unknown

Source ascent: 3 h 30 min–4 h 30 min

Corvatsch ski descent with foot section

ski touring · Grade unconfirmed · glacier assessment unknown

Fixed aids: short foot section with pins and ropes; described time only in optimal conditions

Original grade scales are retained. Mountain hiking, mountaineering and ski touring grades describe different skills. Times belong to their published direction and variant.

Opening & staying

Confirm your dates and reservation with the hut. Published opening periods and usual month patterns do not show available beds or current path conditions.

Hut opening & reservation information ↗
Dated notices, services & travel

Booking method: online reservation system

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — current closure, winter2027 dates and protective room only ↗

Notice: Pontresina–Hotel Roseg is about7km, approached on foot, mountain bike or horse carriage. Murtèl high-path start depends on separate cable-car service.

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — summer approaches and closed winter ValRoseg route ↗

Notice: Operator explicitly says winter access through ValRoseg is closed because of PizScerscen rockfall; snowshoe approach through this valley is also not passable. This does not state that both summerT2 approaches are closed.

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — summer approaches and closed winter ValRoseg route ↗

Notice: Municipal notice dated 18 June 2024 strongly advises against entering rockfall deposits; valley-floor path to Lej da Vadret remains closed, and rapid water-level rises along Ova da Roseg may occur even in fine weather. This is the dated assessment linked by the current operator page, not a new 2026 assessment.

Source read 2026-10-24· Samedan — dated2024 rockfall/debris measures ↗

Notice: 3October2026 article confirms summer season has ended and hut is closed; team expects return inMarch2027. Homepage gives more precise20March–25April2027 winter period.

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz —3October2026 season closure article ↗

Bedding: duvets/pillows; cotton/silk sleeping liner obligatory, rental available

Dogs: no dining/sleeping rooms; telephone in advance

Payment: pay evening before departure; cashCHF/EUR preferred,Maestro,Twint,credit card accepted

Notice: Electricity: solar, limited in poor weather; bring power bank

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — visitor facilities and booking preparation ↗

Notice: Hut currently closed. No winter room and no unstaffed sleeping or cooking facilities; only a protective shelter is present.

Unstaffed room: not provided

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — current closure, winter2027 dates and protective room only ↗

Notice: 22August2026 report says heavy rain displaced the bridge above the AlpOta junction. Operator then described the gully as passable depending on water, with caution. No later bridge-reinstatement or present crossing clearance established.

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz —22August2026 AlpOta bridge report ↗

Groups: reserve day-meal visits in advance

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — visitor facilities and booking preparation ↗

Published staffed period: 2027-03-20–2027-04-25 · ski touring · spring

Source read 2026-10-24· Coaz — current closure, winter2027 dates and protective room only ↗
Sources & what has been checked

Association profile: complete. Operator notices: complete. These checks do not rate the paths around the hut.

Location: OpenStreetMap. Source facts and map locations retain their own provenance.