RacesIndependent race preparation guide

Marrakech, Morocco · 42.195 km road marathon

Marrakech Marathon 2027

Sunday 31 January 2027

Marrakech's January marathon: one fast loop of the city, starting and finishing by Bab Jdid, with a 5 h 30 limit but a 13:00 close at the finish.

Marrakech Marathon at a glance

Start
07:45, Avenue de la Menara by Bab Jdid
Finish
Avenue de la Menara by Bab Jdid, at the start
Course
Single loop, flat with gentle rises, through the Palmeraie, along the ramparts and round Agdal
Elevation
Between 406 and 495 m above sea level
Time limit
5 h 30, basis not stated; the programme closes the finish at 13:00
Cut-offs
None published; split times at km 10 and km 30
Entry
Open; 80 euro for visitors from abroad paying by international card, no refunds
Bib pickup
Station or Jemaa el-Fna, 24 to 30 January, 09:00 to 22:00; no race-day pickup
Aid stations
Water and orange slices every 5 km, sponges every 5 km from km 7

Checked against the organizer's pages on 24 September 2026. Facts for the next edition can still change; the organizer's page is the final word.

Compare it with other races; no account needed.

Marrakech Marathon course map and elevation

Single loop, flat with gentle rises, through the Palmeraie, along the ramparts and round Agdal. Map, elevation profile and 3D flyover.

Loading topographic map…

running direction two lines: out and back on the same road race kilometresCourse: TrailSplits reconstruction; map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

425m450m475m500m010 km20 km30 km40 km495m406m
Flat (<5%)

Route drawn by TrailSplits from published race information; approximate. For illustration, not navigation.

What to expect on the course

  • Northern turn at the edge of the Palmeraie near km 9 to 10, the lowest point of the course
  • Along the medina ramparts on the east side, past Bab el Khemis at km 15, to about km 20
  • Loops past the Agdal gardens and Marrakech Golf City between km 21 and 35
  • Last 7 km up Avenue de la Menara beside the Menara gardens, past the station again near km 40

The line shows the loop as run in 2025, which matches the organizer's 2023 map; no 2027 course map is published yet, so check the final route before race day.

Read the full course description

A single loop from Avenue de la Menara by Bab Jdid, measured by an international IAAF and AIMS expert. No 2027 map is published yet, so this outline follows the organizer's 2023 map and the 2025 course. It passes the railway station on Avenue Hassan II at about km 2, runs north through the new town to the edge of the Palmeraie and turns at its northern tip near km 9 to 10. It returns south on Boulevard Oued Issil to the medina walls near Bab el Khemis at km 15, follows the ramparts down the east side to about km 20, then crosses west into Agdal, where loops past the Agdal gardens and Marrakech Golf City fill km 21 to 35. The last 7 km run up Avenue de la Menara beside the Menara gardens, pass the station again near km 40 and return to Bab Jdid. The organizer calls it flat and fast apart from gentle false-flat rises in the palm grove, with no climb figure; terrain heights show about 55 m of descent to the low point near km 9, then a gradual 90 m rise to the high point near km 24. Water and orange slices come every 5 km and at the finish, and sponges every 5 km from km 7; no pacers are announced.

Source, licence and file

TrailSplits reconstruction of the published route. Course: TrailSplits reconstruction; map data © OpenStreetMap contributors · ODbL · original source · Download reference GPX (42.7 km in the file). Approximate terrain-model heights added by TrailSplits, sampled and smoothed at roughly 100 m intervals. Buildings, bridges and small road gradients are not surveyed road elevations.Produced using Copernicus WorldDEM-30 © DLR e.V. 2010-2014 and © Airbus Defence and Space GmbH 2014-2018 provided under COPERNICUS by the European Union and ESA; all rights reserved.

Three decisions to make before race day

  1. Collect your bib by Saturday 30 January

    No bibs on race day: collect yours at the station or Jemaa el-Fna between 24 and 30 January, with the confirmation email and an original passport or identity card.

    More detail

    No bibs are handed out on race day. Collect bib, chip and T-shirt at Marrakech railway station or Jemaa el-Fna, 09:00 to 22:00 from Sunday 24 to Saturday 30 January 2027, or at the Marathon Village on Koutoubia Square from Thursday 28 January, with the confirmation email and an original passport or identity card. The village hours differ between the organizer's pages, so the station desks are the safer plan.

  2. Plan to finish by 13:00, not just inside 5 h 30

    The limit is 5 h 30, but the programme closes the finish at 13:00, 5 h 15 after the 07:45 start. If you expect more than 5 h 15, pace to be in by 13:00.

    More detail

    The published limit is 5 h 30, which from the 07:45 gun would run to 13:15, but the race-day programme closes the marathon at the finish area at 13:00, and the basis of the limit is not stated. If you expect to need more than 5 h 15, pace for a 13:00 finish and check the final race instructions for the closing time.

  3. Carry your own fuel and run the long drag by effort

    Aid is water and orange slices only, so carry your own gels. The first 9 km drop about 55 m, then a gradual 90 m rise runs to km 24: run by effort.

    More detail

    Aid stations every 5 km serve only water and orange slices, with sponges from km 7, so bring the gels or drink mix you train with. The first 9 km drop about 55 m to the Palmeraie, then the course rises gradually by about 90 m to its high point near km 24; an even effort, not an even pace, suits this profile.

Your race-day sheet

Even elapsed splits for 42.195 km. All clocks are local to Marrakech.

Target finish time, including stops

The initial value is the first published start, not your assigned wave. Africa/Casablanca.

Time limit: 5 h 30, basis not stated; the programme closes the finish at 13:00

How this sheet applies the limit

The organizer gives 5 h 30 for the marathon without saying whether it counts from the gun or from your own crossing of the line, and its race-day programme closes the marathon at the finish area at 13:00, 5 h 15 after the 07:45 start. The sheet applies both, so for a single 07:45 start the 13:00 close decides. No intermediate cut-offs are published; split times are taken at km 10 and km 30.

A timing comparison, not a fitness assessment. Intermediate cutoffs, queues, weather and terrain are not modelled. Stops are spread evenly in the illustration; actual checkpoint times will differ.

ESTIMATED FINISH

11:45:00

MOVING PACE BUDGET

5:34/ km

ELAPSED PACE

5:41/ km

75 min below the modelled finish limit

Distance markers, not aid stations or guaranteed arrival times.
DistanceElapsedLocal clock
5 km00:28:2608:13:26
10 km00:56:5308:41:53
15 km01:25:1909:10:19
20 km01:53:4509:38:45
Halfway02:00:0009:45:00
25 km02:22:1210:07:12
30 km02:50:3810:35:38
35 km03:19:0511:04:05
40 km03:47:3111:32:31
Finish04:00:0011:45:00

Training plan for Marrakech Marathon 2027

A free week-by-week plan dated to this race. It starts from a stated default (weekly distance, longest recent run, days a week) that you can change; nothing is read from your watch or training history. It does not use the finish-time target above.

View my training plan

No account required. Keep a fixed copy, download the calendar or get a subscription URL for Google or Apple Calendar.

Entry, bib pickup and rules

Entry:
Open; 80 euro for visitors from abroad paying by international card, no refunds
Bib pickup:
Station or Jemaa el-Fna, 24 to 30 January, 09:00 to 22:00; no race-day pickup
Read the full entry and pickup rules

Entry is open on the organizer's online platform, which sorts runners into Moroccans, foreign residents of Morocco and visitors from abroad. Visitors paying with an international card pay 80 euro for the marathon, 60 euro for the half and 6 euro for the new 5 km on Saturday; dirham rates for Moroccan cards are not listed here. Entry is firm and final with no refunds, details can be corrected once, and a medical certificate of fitness for competitive running is mandatory. Desks in Marrakech also take entries: at Dar Talib in Daoudiate from 2 January 2027, and from 23 January at the railway station, Jemaa el-Fna and Dar Talib. No age limit, transfer rule or entry cap is published.

Sources

Checked 24 September 2026; next review due 2026-11-05. Event facts come from the organizer; the pacing sheet, decisions and plan are TrailSplits' own. Independently prepared by TrailSplits, not endorsed by the organizer.

What each source confirms
  • Course page (2027): The 31 January 2027 date, 42.195 km certified by an IAAF and AIMS expert, start and finish on Avenue de la Menara behind the Sofitel near La Mamounia, the 07:45 start, the 5 h 30 limit, the flat course with false-flat rises in the palm grove, water and orange slices every 5 km and at the finish, sponges every 5 km from km 7, and splits at km 10 and km 30. The marathon map slot on this page currently shows a photograph, not a map.
  • Village and race programme (2027): Entry desks at Dar Talib from 2 January 2027 and at the station, Jemaa el-Fna and Dar Talib from 23 January; the Marathon Village on Koutoubia Square from Thursday 28 January with Thursday and Friday hours; the 07:30 welcome, the 07:45 start on Avenue de la Menara and the 13:00 close of the marathon at the finish area.
  • Bib collection page (2027): Pickup at Marrakech station and Jemaa el-Fna from 24 to 30 January 2027, 09:00 to 22:00, and at the village on 28 to 30 January, 09:00 to 20:00; no bibs on race day; confirmation email and original identity document; T-shirt handed out with the bib.
  • Official rules (2027): The mandatory medical certificate for marathon and half, entries firm and final with no refunds, chip timing and aid every 5 km.
  • Registration page and platform: The embedded official platform with the Moroccan, foreign-resident and foreign-visitor categories, the euro basket for visitors (80 euro marathon, 60 euro half, 6 euro 5 km) and the single correction of entry details.
  • Organizer course map, 2023 edition (archived): The loop outline with the Palmeraie turn, Boulevard Oued Issil, Bab el Khemis, the ramparts, Route Agdal, the southern loops and Golf City, and the km markers; a 2023 map, not a 2027 confirmation.