RacesIndependent race preparation guide

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom · 42.195 km road marathon

Milton Keynes Marathon 2027

Monday 3 May 2027

A bank holiday Monday marathon of two unequal laps from Stadium MK on the city's redways and closed grid roads, with clock-time cut-offs at the second lap and mile 21.

Milton Keynes Marathon at a glance

Start
09:00, Stadium Way outside Stadium MK; in 2026 four zones went off 09:00 to 09:15
Finish
Inside Stadium MK, after a lap of the pitch
Course
Two unequal laps, the half marathon sharing lap one; the organizer calls it flat
Elevation
Between 59 and 110 m above sea level
Time limit
6 h 30 under the road-closure plan, about 15 minutes a mile; gun or chip not stated
Cut-offs
Second lap by 12:50; mile 21 by 14:35 (2026 guide) or 14:45 (FAQ): plan on 14:35
Entry
Open, no ballot: 60 pounds (58 affiliated), rising to 62 on 7 October 2026, plus a booking fee
Bib pickup
2027 dates not yet out; in 2026 at Up & Running, Bradwell Common, or a race-day desk 07:00 to 08:45
Aid stations
Water at miles 3, 5, 8, 11, 12.5, 15, 18, 21 and 24; gels at 8 and 21

Checked against the organizer's pages on 23 September 2026. Facts for the next edition can still change; the organizer's page is the final word.

Compare it with other races; no account needed.

Milton Keynes Marathon course map and elevation

Two unequal laps, the half marathon sharing lap one; the organizer calls it flat. Map, elevation profile and 3D flyover.

Loading topographic map…

running direction two lines: out and back on the same road race kilometresCourse: TrailSplits reconstruction; map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

75m100m010 km20 km30 km40 km110m59m
Flat (<5%)

Route drawn by TrailSplits from published race information; approximate. For illustration, not navigation.

What to expect on the course

  • The high point, about 110 m, on a loop through Central Milton Keynes near mile 3
  • Through the Ouzel Valley by Woughton on the Green and Woolstone on both laps
  • Lap two turns west to Campbell Park, then north through Downhead Park to Willen at mile 19 and round Willen Lake
  • The low point by Willen Lake near km 32, then a gentle 10 m rise over the final 2 km
  • The closing lap of the pitch is half tarmac, half artificial grass, and can be slippery when wet

The map follows the organizer's 2027 marathon route matched to the roads and redways; the closing lap inside Stadium MK is not drawn.

Read the full course description

Two unequal laps from Stadium MK on the city's redway paths and closed grid roads, with the half marathon sharing the first lap from the same 09:00 start. Lap one climbs north-west through Coffee Hall and Leadenhall to a loop in Central Milton Keynes near mile 3, the high point at about 110 m, then drops east past Eaglestone and runs north through the Ouzel Valley by Woughton on the Green and Woolstone to the south end of Willen Lake near mile 7, out to Broughton at mile 8, and south past Monkston, Kents Hill, the Open University and Tinkers Bridge back to the stadium near mile 13, where the half turns in to finish. Lap two climbs back to Coffee Hall, crosses to Woughton on the Green, reruns the Ouzel Valley past Woolstone, then turns west to Campbell Park and north through Downhead Park to Willen at mile 19, circles Willen Lake by Pineham and rejoins the lap-one line at Broughton for the last five miles to the stadium. The organizer calls the course flat; the terrain model shows about 30 m of rise over the first 5 km, 15 m back up to Coffee Hall early on lap two, the low point by Willen Lake near km 32, a gentle 10 m rise over the final 2 km, and roughly 110 to 130 m of ascent in all. Most of the route is good tarmac road and wide redway; the closing lap of the pitch is half tarmac and half artificial grass and can be slippery when wet, and the organizer names no narrow sections. Water stations sit at miles 3, 5, 8, 11, 12.5, 15, 18, 21 and 24, with High5 gels at 8 and 21, orange sports drink at 11, 18 and 24, and portable toilets at every stop; pacers run every 15 minutes from 3:00 to 5:15 plus 5:30. Only bone-conduction headphones (and Shokz OpenFit) are allowed; any other earphones mean disqualification.

Source, licence and file

TrailSplits reconstruction of the published route. Course: TrailSplits reconstruction; map data © OpenStreetMap contributors · ODbL · original source · Download reference GPX (42.8 km in the file). Approximate terrain-model heights added by TrailSplits, sampled and smoothed at roughly 100 m intervals. Buildings, bridges and small road gradients are not surveyed road elevations.Produced using Copernicus WorldDEM-30 © DLR e.V. 2010-2014 and © Airbus Defence and Space GmbH 2014-2018 provided under COPERNICUS by the European Union and ESA; all rights reserved.

Three decisions to make before race day

  1. Check the mile 21 cut-off before the 6 h 30 limit

    Both cut-offs are clock times, so later zones have less room. From a 09:15 green-zone start (2026), mile 21 by 14:35 or 14:45 needs about 9:30 to 9:45 per km; if you expect to finish beyond 6 h, pace for 14:35.

    More detail

    Both intermediate cut-offs are clock times, so a later start zone has less room. From a 09:15 green-zone start (the 2026 slot for predicted times over 5 h), the second-lap arch at about 21 km by 12:50 needs only about 10:15 min/km, but mile 21 by 14:35 (the 2026 guide) or 14:45 (the FAQ) needs about 9:30 to 9:45 min/km over the first 33.8 km. If you expect to finish beyond 6 h, pace for the 14:35 version and know that the shuttle bus picks up at every water stop.

  2. Take the right turn at each split point

    You run lap one among half-marathon runners and turn out for lap two near mile 13. On lap two turn left for Campbell Park near mile 16.7 and left for the finish near mile 25.5; the 2026 guide warns a wrong turn can cost your official time.

    More detail

    Marathoners run lap one among half-marathon runners and pass the stadium near mile 13 as the half turns in to finish; you turn out for lap two. On lap two you rerun the lap-one line north from Woughton on the Green past Woolstone, then keep left and turn left for Campbell Park near mile 16.7 where lap one went straight on, and near mile 25.5 you turn left for the finish. The 2026 guide warns that a wrong choice can mean the wrong distance or no official time, and the 2027 route has changed in the Broughton area, so read the split points in the 2027 guide when it appears.

  3. Collect your number before race morning if you can

    Numbers are never posted. In 2026 they came from Up & Running in Bradwell Common until 16:00 the day before, with a race-day desk (Gate 6, 07:00 to 08:45) only as a last resort, and Milton Keynes Central station is about 3 miles away with no shuttle.

    More detail

    Numbers are not posted. In 2026 they came from the Up & Running store in Bradwell Common from 18 April until 16:00 the day before, and the race-day desk inside the Arena (Gate 6, 07:00 to 08:45) was offered only as a last resort. The stadium opens at 07:00, runners were asked to be in their zones by 08:40, Milton Keynes Central station is about 3 miles away with no shuttle bus, and there are no showers, so a runner arriving on race morning by train has little slack for a queue at the desk.

Your race-day sheet

Even elapsed splits for 42.195 km. All clocks are local to Milton Keynes.

Target finish time, including stops

The 09:00 start is confirmed for 2027. The four colour zones (red 09:00, yellow 09:05, blue 09:10, green 09:15, assigned by predicted finish) are the 2026 arrangement; the 2027 zones are not yet published. Europe/London.

Time limit: 6 h 30 under the road-closure plan, about 15 minutes a mile; gun or chip not stated

How this sheet applies the limit

The organizer allows 6 h 30 to finish under its agreed road-closure plan, roughly 15 minutes a mile, and does not say whether that runs from the gun or from your own crossing of the start mat; chip times start at the mat and the finish clock shows time since the gun, so this sheet sets no closing clock. Two intermediate cut-offs are fixed clock times: be at the start and finish arch to begin the second lap by 12:50, and at the mile 21 water station by 14:45 according to the FAQ, while the 2026 event guide gave 14:35 for mile 21, so plan on the earlier time until the 2027 guide appears. Runners who miss either are withdrawn, and a shuttle bus collects from every water stop.

A timing comparison, not a fitness assessment. Intermediate cutoffs, queues, weather and terrain are not modelled. Stops are spread evenly in the illustration; actual checkpoint times will differ.

ESTIMATED FINISH

13:00:00

MOVING PACE BUDGET

5:34/ km

ELAPSED PACE

5:41/ km

150 min below the modelled finish limit

Distance markers, not aid stations or guaranteed arrival times.
DistanceElapsedLocal clock
5 km00:28:2609:28:26
10 km00:56:5309:56:53
15 km01:25:1910:25:19
20 km01:53:4510:53:45
Halfway02:00:0011:00:00
25 km02:22:1211:22:12
30 km02:50:3811:50:38
35 km03:19:0512:19:05
40 km03:47:3112:47:31
Finish04:00:0013:00:00

Training plan for Milton Keynes Marathon 2027

A free week-by-week plan dated to this race. It starts from a stated default (weekly distance, longest recent run, days a week) that you can change; nothing is read from your watch or training history. It does not use the finish-time target above.

View my training plan

No account required. Keep a fixed copy, download the calendar or get a subscription URL for Google or Apple Calendar.

Entry, bib pickup and rules

Entry:
Open, no ballot: 60 pounds (58 affiliated), rising to 62 on 7 October 2026, plus a booking fee
Bib pickup:
2027 dates not yet out; in 2026 at Up & Running, Bradwell Common, or a race-day desk 07:00 to 08:45
Read the full entry and pickup rules

Entry is open on the organizer's Eventrac platform with no ballot: 564 of the 3,000 marathon places were taken on the check date, and the fee is 60 pounds, or 58 with a UK Athletics affiliation number, rising to 62 (60 affiliated) on 7 October 2026, plus a booking fee that the registration page puts at 4.68 percent and the FAQ at 6.56 percent plus 25p. There are no race-day entries and the minimum age is 18 on race day. You can transfer your place to another runner or switch distance until 31 March, the new runner paying the current price; there are no deferrals and no refunds unless Refundable Booking was added at checkout. Numbers are never posted. In 2026 runners who entered before 13 April collected from the Up & Running store inside Go Outdoors, Central Retail Park, Bradwell Common (MK13 8PU) from Saturday 18 April until 16:00 on the day before, later entrants at a mini expo in the same store on the Thursday and Friday evenings (16:00 to 20:00), and as a last resort at the race-day desk inside the Arena through Gate 6 from 07:00 to 08:45; the 2027 collection dates are not yet published.

Sources

Checked 23 September 2026; next review due 2026-11-07. Event facts come from the organizer; the pacing sheet, decisions and plan are TrailSplits' own. Independently prepared by TrailSplits, not endorsed by the organizer.

What each source confirms
  • 2027 marathon page: Bank Holiday Monday 3 May 2027, the 09:00 start at Stadium MK, the 6.5 hour course limit, the minimum age of 18, the lap of the pitch before the finish, the AIMS certification and course-accuracy certificates, the 2027 route PDF and the embedded Strava route behind the map line.
  • 2027 marathon route map: The 2027 route with mile markers, the water-station table with gels and sports drink, the relay change points and the profile.
  • Registration information: The 2 and 3 May 2027 event dates and 09:00 marathon, half and relay starts, transfers and distance changes until 31 March, the refund policy and the 4.68 percent booking fee.
  • Eventrac entry page: Marathon entry open with 3,000 places and 564 taken on the check date, 60 pounds (58 affiliated) until the rise to 62 (60) on 7 October 2026, and the age rule on 3 May 2027.
  • Participant FAQ: The 12:50 second-lap and 14:45 mile 21 cut-offs, surfaces, pacers, water stations, toilets, timing mats, the 2026 number-collection dates and race-day desk, the stadium opening at 07:00, bag drop, no showers, no deferrals, the 6.56 percent plus 25p booking fee and the headphone rule. The page is undated.
  • 2026 marathon and half event guide: The 2026 colour start zones and times, the 08:40 zone call, the split points, the 6 h 30 road-closure allowance, the 14:35 mile 21 cut-off, the shuttle bus and the gun-time finish clock. 2026 facts, not 2027 confirmations.
  • Race rules: UK Athletics rules, the start-period rule, no refunds or deferrals and the headphone restriction.