RacesIndependent race preparation guide

Oslo, Norway · 42.195 km road marathon

Oslo Marathon 2027

Saturday 18 September 2027

Two laps of a 21.1 km city loop from Rådhusplassen through Frogner, Skøyen, the fjord front and Bislett, with a six-hour limit and a three-hour halfway gate.

Oslo Marathon at a glance

Start
09:00 to 09:10 in three pools by expected finish time, Rådhusplassen
Finish
Rådhusplassen, in front of Oslo City Hall
Course
Two laps of about 21.1 km, rolling, with climbs in Frogner and up to Bislett
Elevation
From about sea level to 59 m
Time limit
6 h; gun or chip basis not stated
Cut-offs
Halfway within 3 h or you are stopped
Entry
Open; 1,350 NOK plus a 50 NOK one-day licence
Bib pickup
Expo tent, Rådhusplassen: Thu 16 and Fri 17 Sept 09:00 to 20:00, race morning from 07:00
Aid stations
Fluid stations about every 5 km, eleven including the finish

Checked against the organizer's pages on 24 September 2026. Facts for the next edition can still change; the organizer's page is the final word.

Compare it with other races; no account needed.

Oslo Marathon course map and elevation

Two laps of about 21.1 km, rolling, with climbs in Frogner and up to Bislett. Map, elevation profile and 3D flyover.

Loading topographic map…

running direction two lines: out and back on the same road race kilometresCourse: Oslo Marathon / Racedaymap

25m50m010 km20 km30 km40 km59m2m
Flat (<5%)

Organizer-published 2026 course file; the next edition's route may differ. For illustration, not navigation.

What to expect on the course

  • Along the fjord at Frognerstranda by km 2, then up through Frogner to the high point of about 60 m near km 5
  • Down through Frognerparken around km 7 to the western turn at Skøyen near km 9
  • Past Aker Brygge and below Akershus Fortress on Akershusstranda, km 13 to 14
  • A climb of about 35 m to Bislett near km 17, then down to Karl Johans gate near km 20

The Racedaymap download is the 2026 course. The 2027 date and the 2026 route are deliberately identified separately.

Read the full course description

Two laps of the 21.1 km half-marathon loop, starting and finishing on Rådhusplassen, where marathon runners pass the finish area at halfway to begin the second lap on the same streets. Each lap heads west along Munkedamsveien to the Frognerstranda waterfront by km 2, then climbs north through Frogner, past the main gate of Frognerparken on Kirkeveien near km 4, to the high point of about 60 m on Middelthuns gate near km 5. It swings west and back down through Frognerparken around km 7 to the western turn at Skøyen near km 9, then runs flat beside the fjord along Frognerkilen and Frognerstranda, past Aker Brygge near km 13 and below Akershus Fortress on Akershusstranda near km 14. From the city centre it climbs about 35 m by Pilestredet to Bislett around km 17, then drops back through the centre to Karl Johans gate near km 20 and Rådhusplassen. The organizer quotes about 175 m of climbing per lap and 350 m for the marathon, while its race-day map gives 181 m; the course file stays between sea level and about 60 m. Fluid stations come roughly every 5 km, eleven counting the one after the finish, with Maxim sports drink, water, cola and bananas and three toilets at each; pacers run from 3:00 to 5:30.

Source, licence and file

2026 reference course. Course: Oslo Marathon / Racedaymap · Source and attribution · original source · Download reference GPX (42.7 km in the file). Approximate heights supplied in the source file, not a certified climb measurement.

Three decisions to make before race day

  1. Reach halfway inside three hours, and ride lap one gently

    You are stopped if not through halfway within 3 h. Both climbs come twice, and the half marathon joins the loop at 13:00.

    More detail

    Anyone not through halfway within three hours is stopped, so a runner near the six-hour limit has no slack on lap one. Both climbs, up through Frogner to about 60 m near km 5 and up to Bislett near km 17, come twice. The slowest pacer runs 5:30, and the half marathon starts at 13:00 on the same loop, so slower runners will share lap two with that field.

  2. Collect your bib on Thursday or Friday

    Collect on Thursday 16 or Friday 17 September, 09:00 to 20:00; Saturday pickup opens at 07:00 with long queues. Bring the start card and ID.

    More detail

    The expo tent on Rådhusplassen opens 09:00 to 20:00 on Thursday 16 and Friday 17 September, and the organizer expects long Saturday queues when the desk opens at 07:00, two hours before the 09:00 start. Bring the start card sent by email and SMS, or from your participant profile, plus identification; a friend may collect with your start card and a copy of your ID.

  3. Decide on cancellation cover and your pool at entry

    Entry is binding; the 139 NOK insurance can only be added at entry. Your expected time sets your pool, and starting elsewhere can mean disqualification.

    More detail

    Entries are binding with no refund even for illness, and the 139 NOK MySafety insurance can only be added while registering. Resale is allowed only once the marathon sells out, and a distance change costs 250 NOK. Your expected finish time sets your pool, 09:00 to 09:10; you can change it in your profile, but starting from another pool can mean disqualification.

Your race-day sheet

Even elapsed splits for 42.195 km. All clocks are local to Oslo.

Target finish time, including stops

The initial value is the first published start, not your assigned wave. Europe/Oslo.

Time limit: 6 h; gun or chip basis not stated

How this sheet applies the limit

The organizer gives the marathon 6 h and stops anyone who has not reached halfway, the end of the first lap, within 3 h. It does not say whether either limit runs from the gun or from your own start crossing, and publishes no closing clock. This sheet applies six hours from the pool start you enter, 09:00, 09:05 or 09:10, and does not check the halfway gate. The Oslo Triple text on the same site mentions a last marathon pool at 09:35, which conflicts with the three pools listed.

A timing comparison, not a fitness assessment. Intermediate cutoffs, queues, weather and terrain are not modelled. Stops are spread evenly in the illustration; actual checkpoint times will differ.

ESTIMATED FINISH

13:00:00

MOVING PACE BUDGET

5:34/ km

ELAPSED PACE

5:41/ km

120 min below the modelled finish limit

Distance markers, not aid stations or guaranteed arrival times.
DistanceElapsedLocal clock
5 km00:28:2609:28:26
10 km00:56:5309:56:53
15 km01:25:1910:25:19
20 km01:53:4510:53:45
Halfway02:00:0011:00:00
25 km02:22:1211:22:12
30 km02:50:3811:50:38
35 km03:19:0512:19:05
40 km03:47:3112:47:31
Finish04:00:0013:00:00

Training plan for Oslo Marathon 2027

A free week-by-week plan dated to this race. It starts from a stated default (weekly distance, longest recent run, days a week) that you can change; nothing is read from your watch or training history. It does not use the finish-time target above.

View my training plan

No account required. Keep a fixed copy, download the calendar or get a subscription URL for Google or Apple Calendar.

Entry, bib pickup and rules

Entry:
Open; 1,350 NOK plus a 50 NOK one-day licence
Bib pickup:
Expo tent, Rådhusplassen: Thu 16 and Fri 17 Sept 09:00 to 20:00, race morning from 07:00
Read the full entry and pickup rules

Direct entry for 18 September 2027 is open on the organizer's new Haku platform; on the check date the marathon cost 1,350 NOK including the administration fee, plus a 50 NOK one-day licence unless you hold an annual Norwegian athletics licence, and the Oslo Triple was full. Students aged 18 to 30 get 15 percent off with verified ID, and runners must be 18. Entries are binding with no refund, even for illness, unless MySafety cancellation insurance (139 NOK) is added at entry; a place may be resold only once the distance sells out, for a fee, and a distance change costs 250 NOK. Bibs are collected at the expo tent on Rådhusplassen on Thursday 16 and Friday 17 September, 09:00 to 20:00, or race day, 07:00 to 15:00; the race-day hours serve every distance, so a marathon runner collects before the 09:00 start.

Sources

Checked 24 September 2026; next review due 2026-11-17. Event facts come from the organizer; the pacing sheet, decisions and plan are TrailSplits' own. Independently prepared by TrailSplits, not endorsed by the organizer.

What each source confirms
  • Runners information (2027 section): Start times and three pools for 18 September 2027, the six-hour limit with the halfway gate, expo hours on Rådhusplassen, start card and proxy rules, luggage, fluid stations, pacers, 2027 prices and insurance.
  • Distances page, marathon: The 09:00 start, 1,350 NOK fee with 50 NOK licence, minimum age 18, eleven fluid stations, pacers, the two-lap route past named districts, and the Oslo Triple text giving a 09:35 last pool.
  • Course page: The 2026 course map and GPX, two laps of the half-marathon loop, about 175 m per lap and 350 m for the marathon, and the 2027 course still to be presented.
  • Organizer race-day map (Racedaymap): The 2026 marathon line with 181 m of climbing and five drink stations per lap; it still shows the 2026 expo at Tøyen.
  • General terms and conditions: Binding entry with no refund even for illness or injury, resale only for sold-out distances with a transfer fee, and the organizer's right to change course or start time.
  • Haku entry form: Entry open for DNB Oslo Maraton 2027 with the marathon at 1,350 NOK including fees; the Oslo Triple is marked full.